2008 Humanitarian and Public Service Emmy Awards | Mitral Valve Repair Center Skip to main content

On Friday, November 7, the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences honored Kenneth L. Davis, MD, and the Trustees of The Mount Sinai Medical Center with its Humanitarian and Public Service Award. Basketball star and philanthropist Earvin "Magic" Johnson presented the award, which recognizes Mount Sinai for its dedication to advancing medical research and improving public health. Mount Sinai is the first and only academic medical center in the country to have received this award.

Valentin Fuster, MD, PhD, and Mount Sinai Heart received The Global Prevention Prize for Mount Sinai's role in helping to eradicate paramount health concerns worldwide. The award, from event sponsor U.S. Preventive Medicine, was presented by journalist Charlie Rose.

This special Emmy Awards ceremony was part of the National Health Science Summit, which also included two lively and compelling panel discussions, "Drug Discoveries and Innovation" and "Pioneers of Modern Medicine," featuring Mount Sinai physicians and other experts.

Log on to the Webcast at http://www.tvworldwide.com/events/emmys/081107/ to watch the panel discussions and awards ceremony, which took place at Rockefeller Center's Rainbow Room. Following are details about the panels:

Drug Discovery and Innovation - moderated by ABC Television's Roger Sergel and featuring Dr. Davis, President and CEO of the Medical Center; Tommy Thompson, former Wisconsin Governor and former U.S. Health and Human Services Secretary; Alfred B. Engelberg, former U.S. Justice Department trial attorney and patent law expert; Steven M. Paul, President, Lilly Research Laboratories, Eli Lilly and Company; and Frank M. Torti, Principal Deputy Commissioner and Chief Scientist, FDA.

Pioneers of Modern Medicine - moderated by Dennis S. Charney, MD, Dean of Mount Sinai School of Medicine, and featuring some of Mount Sinai's own research pioneers: David H. Adams, MD, Chairman of the Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery; Dr. Fuster, Director of Mount Sinai Heart; Eric Nestler, MD, PhD, Director of the Brain Institute; Roger Hajjar, MD, Director of the Cardiovascular Research Center; Eric A. Rose, MD, Chairman of the Department of Health Policy and Associate Director for Clinical Outcomes at Mount Sinai Heart; and Steven J. Burakoff, MD, Director of the Tisch Cancer Institute.

Page Created: January 08, 2018 Last Updated: January 08, 2018